Peer Pressure

Image result for peer pressure

I stepped out from behind the serving table and looked around at the guests wow what a lot of people, Probably about 20, I thought, Uh stop estimating! I rolled my eyes at myself, “Rolling your eyes is rude and unacceptable!” my mother’s voice shouted in my mind. I sighed oh well some people are just extremely hard to please… Anyway what was I thinking about? Oh right yeah self stop estimating. I sighed again, the moment of telling myself off had passed. Tomorrow is a new day I’m sure I’ll roll my eyes again, any moment now! That reminded me, Tomorrow! Monday! High School! I took a deep breath rolling my eyes again, (Mother would not be happy), High school can’t be that bad… Right? I mean other people can do it so why can’t I? But then again no one else has been home schooled by and over-protective mother for their whole life… Don’t get me wrong I love my Mother but she is MASSIVELY over protective. What if High School kids don’t like me? But I never have had much luck making friends anyway. It’s kind of hard when you don’t see anyone except for the occasional kid running down the street. They always stare at me weirdly anyway. What if they all tease me? Blonde hair and mountains of freckles perfect to teasing block. My name, Adelina, meaning Graceful and noble does not suit me at all as a clumsy girl of 12. I stepped forward imagining walking into the school my head low and humble the ‘popular’ girls standing near by snickering. I looked up just as I collided with a very important person in a suit, and it took me a moment to realize that I really had bashed into someone… in a VERY important looking suit.


Adelina has a problem with peer pressure, here is the definition:

  • Peer Pressure: Influence from members of one’s peer group, social pressure by members of one’s peer group to take a certain action, adopt certain values, or otherwise change in order to be accepted.

To me that sound pretty mean right? So Adelina is under peer pressure she feels like she needs to change so that other kids will accept her and maybe even be her friend. When I re-read what I just wrote I think Brutal. I read a quote and it said, ‘care about what other people think and you will always be their prisoner’. I totally agree with that, I am home schooled and I would NOT want to EVER go to school, Under peer pressure? that sound scary! Peers could convince you to do something you would never do other wise and you would never think of doing. Or convince you to say something you would never think of saying. THAT scares me.

All your friends are getting Boy-Friends or Girl-Friends. Does that make you feel pressured to find someone? You might be an teen-age kid and your like, ‘What? that is so weird!’ or you could feel like, ‘If a get a boy-friend/girl-friend then they might like me more?!’ Emphasis on the MIGHT like you more… Really the people who like you don’t push you to do stuff you shouldn’t or push you to do stuff you don’t need or want to do.

God says in the bible:

Psalm 103 vs 12: As far as the east is from the west, so far has he removed our transgressions from us.

If you do something wrong say sorry to God and have FAITH that God will remove your sins from you and take them as far as from the East to the West. That doesn’t mean that you can sin all the time because sin still has consequences. If you stole that yummy looking chocolate out of your pantry and you said, “oops, sorry God please forgive me?!”. that is all great right but when you parent find out THEN you get in trouble.

If you remember in my On The Cross post I wrote about Pilate? well he kind of was under peer pressure in a way:

Mark 15 vs 15: So Pilate, wishing to satisfy the crowd, released for them Barabbas, and having scourged Jesus, he delivered him to be crucified.

He was a general and he understood that he wanted the crowds of people to like him. He accepted the crowds opinion even though he knew that Jesus had done nothing wrong. Sometimes the peer’s who press you with peer pressure are actually insecure themselves. showing your opinions can make people not like you, but the friend who are really worth it will accept your opinions and still feel free to put forward their own.

~Phoenix~

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

3 Replies to “Peer Pressure”

  1. Yeah, you can’t let other people influence you unless you know for sure that their influence is that of a wise and godly Christian!

    Oh, I will say that there’s peer pressure amongst homeschoolers, too. Maybe not of the same kind (my friends would give me a weird look if I said I was getting a boyfriend, as in, “Whoa … where do you actually meet a boy?” mixed with, “Do you realize you’re way to young for this?” mixed with, “I’m gonna murder him if he’s not a Christian and treats you good!”), but … others kinds of peer pressure. No matter where you go or what group you’re in, you’re always gonna feel like you need to act or dress or look a certain way. I’m blessed with friends who don’t do that a lot, but still, I’ve seen it happen amongst homeschoolers. But maybe that’s just me.

    Liked by 3 people

  2. Yes! I totally agree with that. In Home schooling I reckon there is just as much peer pressure as in big schools just in different ways. It depends on whether you let other people push you around I guess. No one can make you feel bad look inferior or act weird without you agreeing!
    Thank You I really appreciate your comments! They always make me think twice! (which is a good thing 😉 )
    ~Phoenix~

    Like

Leave a Reply

