It is for Freedom!

Image result for freedom sign

Galatians 5 vs 1:So Christ has truly set us free. Now make sure that you stay free, and don’t get tied up again in slavery to the law. (NLT)

In the past I have looked at the NIV translation for  that verse;

 It is for freedom that Christ has set us free.” and I have been confused.

Isn’t that like saying, “It is for Ice-skating that I have taken you ice-skating. (I love Ice-Skating)”??? But I guess the point is: What if I begged and begged to go skating, and when I finally got there I sat down ate chips and played video games? I wouldn’t be taking advantage of the gift. Isn’t that what people do with God’s gift? He gave us ALL the gift of Forgiveness & Eternal Life… 

We have been set FREE from the law sin and death. So why do we return to our old ways, our old habits? Israel once had to make the atonement for their sins annually. Most of the time the Israelite’s had to live under the weight of new sins  stacking up until the next Day of Atonement.

The Pharisees used to call this their yoke, the hundreds of laws they had to obey in order to avoid guilt. But Jesus came along and said his yoke was light:

Mathew 11 vs 30:  For my yoke is easy and my burden is light.

Not too many laws, certainly not hundreds.

Mathew 11 vs 30: Jesus replied: “‘Love the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your mind.’ This is the first and greatest commandment. And the second is like it: ‘Love your neighbor as yourself.’

This is why we have freedom! Christ has already done the work for us He saved ALL of US! He DIED for YOU! So accept his gift because he gave it to YOU! He gave us all FREEDOM! He has given US the work of telling and loving. I am afraid (I’m not actually afraid as such, its okay), sometimes the only work we engage in is chasing please and sitting around. What are we doing? It is for freedom that He has set us free. Get up off that Couch, get out there, and live it!

 

~Phoenix~

2 Replies to “It is for Freedom!”

  1. I love this post … especially the part about ice-skating and eating chips. Quite honestly, that would be me if someone took me ice-skating because I have no idea how to ice-skate … but it’s a great simile anyway! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

