Be Joyful [Part 1]

Image result for joy

Romans 12 vs 12: Be joyful because you have hope. Be patient when trouble comes, and pray at all times.

Proverbs 17 vs 22: A happy heart is like good medicine, but a broken spirit drains your strength.

The song of praise that the Israelite’s sang on the shore of the Red Sea was because their hearts were filled  with Joy. This joy is something that should be a part of every Christian life. It is not merely icing on the cake to be tasted once in a while, (YUM CAKE!) but it should be shown throughout a Christians life. I guess we all sometimes consider happiness or joy as something that randomly just HAPPENS to us, not something that should flow from us. Sometimes we don’t consider joy as something to be shown, kind of like its just something that happens to us all sometimes.

     Whenever I struggle to feel joyful, I choose to reflect on how God always meets my needs. Time after time, I’ve seen God put forgiving love in me right where angry resentment had been half an hour before. (Awesome right?!)

     As my relationship with God grows, my love for him becomes more deeply entwined with my gratitude to him. The more I remember his goodness, the closer I feel to his comfort, peace, and JOY.

     Jesus Christ was full of great joy and wants us to have that same joy. Happiness is a temporary emotion, whereas joy should “remain in you.”

John 15 vs 11:“These things I have spoken to you, that My joy may remain in you, and that your joy may be full”.

We should express joy by rejoicing and we will grow in joy. I read somewhere that someone else smiling makes you happier, even if you don’t realize it at the time. Try smiling to someone as you walk by. I tried it and it made me happy to know that I might have made someone feel so happy, and so good on  the inside.

Philippians 4vs4: “Rejoice in the Lord always. Again I will say, rejoice!”

Joy is very important, and regular prayer is a major key to joy. (The word JOY appears 150 times and REJOICE appears 187 times in the New King James Version of the Bible, that is A LOT!!!! And it just shows that God Wants for YOU to be happy and for YOU to rejoice in Him!)

Okay lets try this (I have not tried to do this before, you have been warned…) Okay so I’m going to try to do an acrostic poem with the word JOY:

J-esus first.

O-thers second.

Y-ou last.

Okay really basic but still if you follow Jesus then you have THAT joy. Try putting Jesus FIRST others SECOND and yourself LAST! It is really hard sometimes but I would recommend trying it. 😉

I will continue this on another post 🙂 .

 

~Phoenix~

2 Replies to “Be Joyful [Part 1]”

Leave a Reply

